Everything Must Change…

One of my favorite songs is “Everything Must Change,” written by Bernard Ighner. While I am grateful for the link I’ve provided about him, I must apologize. There is an amazing dearth of information on this talented singer, songwriter, and collaborator. I was both grateful and amused to discover that I’m not the only person having problems finding information about Mr. Ighner. I learned, here, that as of 2006, he was still alive, and that his given name is not Bernard, but Benard! Additionally, Ighner wrote, “Everything Must Change,” but credit for the lyrics has been attributed to everyone but Josie and the Pussycats.

“Everything Must Change” has been performed by a wide and notable variety of artists, including Barbara Streisand, Oleta Adams, Lou Rawls, Peggy Lee, Arthur Prysock, and Quincy Jones, whose performance is, perhaps, the most widely recognized. I am providing, for your enjoyment, one of my favorite renditions, by the late, great Nina Simone, complete with a photo montage.

I meditate, quite regularly, on this song. The melody is haunting, and the lyrics are a velvet hammer. I found comfort in it when my father passed; I hum it when I look in the mirror; and I treasure it as a reminder of one of the main foci of my Buddhist practice: Impermanence.

“Everything Must Change,” by Benard Ighner, as performed, live, by the late, great Nina Simone.

Namaste.

Thank you for leaving a reply!

